Around The College



Paul Walz

Dr. Paul Walz, head of the Department of Pathobiology, is one of four Auburn University professors competitively selected to join the 2021-22 SEC Academic Leadership Development Program cohort. The three additional Auburn University faculty joining the cohort include Chase Bringardner, College of Liberal Arts; Lori Hornsby, Harrison School of Pharmacy; and Jeff Reese, College of Education. 

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program’s goal is to identify, prepare and advance academic leaders for roles within SEC institutions and beyond. The Auburn participants join more than 500 individuals who have participated as fellows in the SEC Academic Leadership Development Program since its establishment in 2008. 

Traditionally, the program operates through three components consisting of a university-level development program designed by each institution for its own fellows, two SEC-wide three-day workshops and a competitive fellowship designed to yield academic growth opportunities for former fellows. However, due to COVID-19, the 2021-22 program experience has been adapted to include both virtual sessions and in-person workshops. 

Walz has been a part of the Auburn faculty for 17 years. Before coming to Auburn, he earned the DVM from Michigan State University and briefly ran a practice in Corunna, Michigan. In 2000, he joined the faculty at Kansas State University, before coming to Auburn in 2004. His research interests include medical and surgical conditions affecting food animals, as well as infectious diseases of cattle.



Melinda Camus

Dr. Melinda Camus, associate dean for academic affairs, was recently featured on a national panel presented by the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, or ACVP. The panel session titled Inspiring Leadership for Women in Academia, was presented as part of the popular Path Chat series hosted by the ACVP Lifelong Learning Committee. Camus was featured alongside Dr. Dori Borjesson, dean of the Washington State University College of Veterinary Medicine, and Dr. Susan Tornquist, dean of the Oregon State University College of Veterinary Medicine. The ACVP mission is to promote excellence in veterinary pathology through its members as they protect and improve animal, human and environmental health to benefit society.



Two Auburn Vet Med veterinary technicians were recognized at the 2021 Alabama Veterinary Technician Association Annual Conference October 23, 2021. Danielle Glarrow, Auburn Small Animal Neurology Service technician and secretary of the 2022-2023 AVTA executive board, was named LVT of the Year. According to the AVTA, this annual award honors one outstanding veterinary technician who is currently licensed in the state of Alabama and whose contributions have consistently worked to elevate standards, encourage other technicians and improve the field of veterinary technology. Maggie Raz, Small Animal Internal Medicine Service technician, was awarded an AVTA Veterinary Technology Distance Education scholarship. Currently a licensed veterinary technician with an associate degree, she has returned to school to pursue a bachelor’s degree in Veterinary Technology to support her future career goals of becoming an educator. 



Auburn Vet Med equine surgery resident Dr. Sarah Kooy recently received a research grant from The Foundation for the Horse. The Foundation invests in clinical advances supporting its three pillars of impact — equine research, education and at-risk horses. Kooy is one of only seven equine researchers awarded Foundation grants to support on-going impactful equine research performed by AAEP-member graduate students, residents or postdoctoral fellows.

Kooy’s research focuses on observing differences in neutrophil proliferation and function with direct and indirect treatment of PRP that will likely further strengthen the need for practitioners to use pure (leukocyte reduced) PRP for enhanced repair of musculoskeletal injuries, which is important to minimize reinjury and protect continued athletic performance.

The grant awarded to fund Dr. Kooy’s research is supported by a gift from the Thoroughbred Education and Research Foundation, whose mission is to make racing safer through research and education to improve the health and safety of Thoroughbred athletes.



Auburn veterinary students Madison Kelly and Jordan Farrell earned national academic scholarships from the American Association of Bovine Practitioners. The awards were presented at the 54th annual meeting of the AABP in Salt Lake City, Utah, in October 2021. Kelly was one of nine students awarded a $10,000 Amstutz Scholarship. Farrell was one of 13 students awarded a $5,000 Zoetis AABP Foundation Scholarship. Both scholarship programs were established to attract veterinary students to food animal practice and provide funds to support the top students who demonstrate the character, knowledge, experience, motivation and potential to become outstanding bovine veterinarians in the United States and Canada. 


The Auburn Vet Med Staff Recognition Awards Ceremony is held annually to recognize how vital administrative staff and employees are to the college’s success in student education, animal healthcare and research initiatives. The college established an employee committee to recognize and honor employees who consistently and consciously go beyond their normal work activities in support of the college’s mission. 

Staff Recognition Award 
Angela Sheflin 
Chris Ferrell 
Leigh Anne Kuhn 

Janice Ham Saidla Award 
Kellye Berkley 

Deborah Hatch Czerkawski Award 
Stephanie Kadletz 

Regina Rodriguez Williams Award 
Shannon Hughes 

Dean’s Award 
Kenny Pitts 

Return to home